Recreation Commission


The Recreation Commission is made up of 11 members and holds its meetings once a month at the Municipal Building. The Commission has a responsibility to determine and formulate policies for the effective management of park and recreation services. It also supports and sets policy for the recreation department staff. In addition, it functions as a liaison between the Board of Education, the Mayor, and the Town Council.

The board of recreation commissioners shall have full control over all lands, playgrounds and recreation places acquired or leased under the provisions of N.J.S.A. 40:12 and may adopt a board seal, suitable rules, regulations and bylaws for the use thereof, and the conduct of all persons while on or using the same; and any person who shall violate any of such rules, regulations or bylaws shall be deemed and adjudged to be a disorderly person.

2023 Meetings

  • 7:30 pm
  • 1st Monday of every month (unless otherwise noted)
  • In compliance with N.J.S.A 10:4-8D (Open Public Meeting Act), the Westfield Recreation Commission wishes to advise the public that it will hold its regular meetings for 2022 on the following days: 
    • January 9th
    • February 6th
    • March 6th
    • April 3rd 
    • May 1st
    • June 5th
    • July 10th
    • No meeting is scheduled for August
    • September 11th ****Meeting Date Change**** September 18th, 2023
    • October 2nd
    • November 6th
    • December 4th
  • Recreation Conference Room of the Municipal Building
    425 E Broad Street
    Westfield, NJ 07090


  • Jennifer Gilman, Chair
    Term Expires: December 31, 2025
  • Monica Bergin
    Term Expires: December 31, 2023
  • Amy Berman
    Term Expires: December 31, 2024
  • Ron Feldman
    Term Expires: December 31, 2025
  • Russell Howell
    Term Expires: December 31, 2024
  • Liz Chacko
    Term Expires: December 31, 2023
  • Tony Stewart
    Term Expires: December 31, 2025
  • Roselle Schjong
    Unexpired Term: December 31, 2023
  • Jeffrey Perella
    Term Expires: December 31, 2025
  • Timothy Simon, Alternate One
    Term Expires: December 31, 2025
  • Joseph Schaefer, Alternate Two
    Term Expires: December 31, 2024
  • Council Liaison: Scott Katz
  • BOE Liaison: 

Additional Member Information

  • 3-year term
  • 9 members and 2 Alternates
  • Mayor Appointment/Council Consent

Agendas and Minutes

Agenda and minutes for the Recreation Commission meetings can be found here.